Tom Frantzen (Boitsfort 1954)

Sculptor

Tom Frantzen

After pursuing science-oriented studies at secondary school, Tom Frantzen hesitated between architecture and sculpture. He eventually opted for a course in monumental sculpture at the Ecole Nationale d'Architecture et des Arts Visuels de La Cambre in Brussels, with Rik Poot as his director of studies. There, he mainly learnt how to work bronze. After training with an Italian caster, he built his own foundry, where he worked until 1990 melting metals. The artist still casts and sculpts materials in his workshop today, using a great diversity of materials. Due to his wild imagination, originality and humour his style could be described as a new form of Flemish fantastic art, but hi main objective is the search for a "spatial dynamic" which often combines minimalist and organic shapes.With public art, he places emphasis in pre-existing sites. His works create a dynamic within the spaces they occupy.

Tom Frantzen

One of his objectives as an artist is to call out to passers-by and to make human reality confront the time that goes by. Interacting is very important for him. In the last ten years, he has been working on the "Sentiers du Chatmikaze" ("paths of the Cat-mikaze"), a sculptural fantasy world situated in the wild. Inspired by everything that shapes mankind and by personal emotions, Tom Frantzen gives a contemporary account of our western civilisation. He does so in a style that is marked with derision. His naive poetry is a daring initiative at a time where conceptual art rules supreme in the minds. Tom Frantzen tells us about what urges the world into motion, about everything that is alive and, more specifically, human.

Tom Frantzen

"I like to present my view on the world; a world that I often perceive as a giant circus where everything is a foregone conclusion. I like to show the real side of life, with its chaos and its contradictory feelings, so typical of humans. I want to depict the dream of a world where art, and sculpture as far as I am concerned, conveys a perceptible, universal message which can link together all humans through time, space and civilisations. I sometimes feel like a medieval pop artist... medieval because I master the age-old art of shaping materials, an art that implies a considerable amount of work, unlike conceptual art where the artist has everything done for him by other people, often leading to an impersonal, lifeless result... pop because of the way I assemble the elements of my works and include usual and mechanical objects." Tom Frantzen calls out to any sensitive, positive onlooker to interact with him.

Tom Frantzen (Boitsfort °1954)

Sculpteur

Tom Frantzen

Après ses humanités scientifiques, Tom Frantzen a hésité entre l'architecture et la sculpture. Finalement, il a choisi la section sculpture monumentale à l'Ecole Nationale d'Architecture et des Arts visuels de La Cambre sous la direction de Rik Poot. Il y a surtout appris le travail du bronze. Après un stage chez un fondeur italien, il a construit sa propre fonderie où il a coulé ses sculptures jusqu'en 1990. Les moulages et le ciselage se font toujours dans son atelier ; l'artiste utilise une grande diversité de matériaux. Son style pourrait se caractériser comme étant une d'art fantastique flamand. Son imaginaire, débordant de fantaisie et d'humour soutient une recherche de « dynamique spatiale » combinant souvent des formes minimalistes et organiques. En art public, il anime les sites existants en installant des sculptures qui dynamisent les lieux.

Tom Frantzen

Un de ses objectifs consiste à interpeller les passants et à chercher une confrontation entre la réalité et l'imaginaire. Depuis une dizaine d'années, il travaille aux "Sentiers du Chatmikaze", un monde sculptural fantastique en pleine nature. Imprégné de tout ce qui fait l'histoire de l'humanité et d'émotions personnelles, Tom Frantzen y donne un témoignage contemporain de notre civilisation occidentale. Il le fait dans un style empreint de dérision. Il ose une poésie audacieusement naïve à l'époque du conceptuel, maître absolu des esprits. Il nous parle de ce qui agite le monde, de ce qui ressort du vivant et de l'humain en particulier.

Tom Frantzen

"J'aime donner ma vision d'un monde que je perçois souvent comme un grand cirque où tout est joué d'avance. J'aime montrer le vrai côté de la vie, avec son chaos, les sentiments si contradictoires propres aux humains. Je veux représenter ce rêve d'un monde où l'art, et les sculptures en ce qui me concerne, ont un message sensible et universel qui peut relier les humains à travers le temps, l'espace et les civilisations. Je me sens parfois, comme un artiste "pop moyenâgeux"... moyenâgeux par la maîtrise des matériaux qui nécessite un énorme travail, à la différence des conceptuels qui font tout exécuter par d'autres, avec un résultat souvent aseptisé et sans vie....pop par le côté assemblage, composition toute en légèreté des éléments récupérés et sculptés...". Tom Frantzen invite les gens sensibles, bienveillants, positifs, constructifs à dialoguer avec lui.